Certification Program

Ayurveda Yoga Philosophy Foundation (AYPF)

According to ayurveda and yoga, taking care of your Mind is as good as taking care of your Life because both these sciences see an intimate and inseparable connection between the Mind and Body.

yoga is not about postures, exercise, stretching, therapy, breathing or physical health. All these are merely tools to help you achieve the Presence of Mind. In another words, your state of being in the Present moment. Our current fast paced lifestyle prevents us from being in the Present Moment.

patanjali yoga sutra also commonly known as raja yoga, defines Yoga as “yogash chitta vritti nirodhah” (pys 1.2). It means yoga is that which regulates the constant movement or thought patterns of the mind. Being aware or being conscious or aware of your thoughts is yoga, not just mere physical movements. Another word for yoga is awareness.

Modern science has coined a new word for this and calls it “Meta Cognition”. Even though the word Meta cognition is new, the principle was rooted in India thousands of years ago. yoga is a State of Being and pantanjali’s Yoga focuses on this.

The ayurveda yoga Philosophy Foundation (AYPF) program systematically integrates the fundamental principles of yoga philosophy and ayurveda philosophy, the various aspects of yoga-asanas (postures), pranayama (breath mastery), overview of kriyas (cleansing techniques) and trataka (eye concentration) into a holistic manner, thus enabling you to understand and impart the knowledge of yoga and ayurveda in its truest sense.

AYPF Students will understand the importance of having a firm foundation on ayurveda and yoga philosophy  have an overview of ayurveda in relation to yoga and how asana and pranayama can impact the tridosha (vata, pitta, kapha).

Course Outline and Structure

Universal vedic Principles, History of ayurveda & yoga

In the AYPF program, you will learn the Universal vedic Principles, the history of ayurveda and yoga and the authentic definition of Yoga. You will look at the four stages of life (ashrama) and the four goals of life (puruṣārtha).

Eight Steps of Yoga

You will learn about the difference between ashtanga yoga and hatha yoga. You will also look into the eight steps of patanjali yoga or sometimes also known as the eight limbs of yoga.

  1. yama – Social discipline
  2. niyama – Individual discipline
  3. asana – Steady and comfortable pose
  4. pranayama – Expansion of vital energy, prana
  5. pratyahara – Withdrawal of senses and moving consciousness inwards
  6. dharana – Mind fit for concentration
  7. dhyana – Meditation
  8. samadhi – Super-Conscious state

Theory of Yoga Asana (Postures)

yoga is misunderstood as asana. asanas are yog-ic postures and they are mainly divided into 2 parts : physical and meditative. Physical postures aim at making your body supple and cleanses the nadi-s (Channels in the body). ayurveda states that there are 72,000 nadis in our body and asana done in the classical yoga way helps remove these blockages. It is for this reason that many people feel the therapeutic benefits when doing asana.

In this section you will also learn definition of classical yoga and the various types of yoga as well as the difference between yoga and exercise. You will have a deeper understanding on the theoretical aspect of  asana. You will also be introduced to the five sheaths (panchakosha) and three bodies (stoola sharira, shuksma sharira and karana sharira).

pranayama (yog-ic Breathing)

In pranayama you will learn how to expand and utilise your inner energy – it is like charging the battery within you. Breathing itself is not pranayama. Breathing is used as a tool to expand your prana.  A foetus in the mother’s womb does not use the nose to breath but has prana from the universe to sustain itself.

prana is the vital life force and in pranayama you are learning to direct that vital life force to discover your inner potential. pranayama is an important aspect in Yoga classes as it is the link between the mind and the body and helps you balance the mind. ayurveda and yoga mentions 5 types of prana (prana, apana, udana, samana and vyana Vayu) .

You will study different types of prana vayu and how they affect the different body parts during pranayama. You will also learn how pranayama balances or aggravates dosha and how to customise programs for your family and friends.

pratyahara (sense withdrawal)

pratyahara is step 5 in astanga yoga and an important concept in the 8 steps of yogapratyahara  is the link between the external yoga (bahiranga yoga) and internal yoga (antaranga yoga) of the astanga yoga. The senses known as indriya-s are also the bridge between the mind and the body. There are five sense organs (jnanendriya), 5 organs of action (karmendriya). Understanding the role of these indriya-s will help one in gaining mastery of the mind and transcend the mind which is the purpose of yoga.

ayurveda and yoga Perspective of the Mind

You will learn ayurveda and yoga perspective of Mind and be introduced to antaranga yoga (Internal Yoga).

patanjali has given a detailed explanation on how the mind (antakarana) works. You will learn the four broad functions of the mind namely the citta (memory bank), buddhi (the power to differentiate), ahankara (identity creator) and the smaller mind (Manas) and how they work in a coherent manner to create balance or independently to create imbalance.

You will also learn the mind qualities (manasa prakriti)  known as sattva, rajas and tamas and how they correlate with vata, pitta and kapha and how to bring out the best quality of the Mind in you. In relation to this, you will also learn the Science behind Brain Waves (Beta, Alpha, Delta and Theta) and how yoga correlates the brain waves and how different yog-ic practices can bring you to Alpha to Theta Brain wave.

Ayurvedic Spices

Contact Us

Other Certification Programs